Sochi – heaven and hell

I love the Olympic Games. I love elaborate shows, galas. I want it to be grand, to captivate me and to figuratively blow my mind. Needless to say I had great expectations for the Sochi games….and O.M.G!!!
It was the most elaborate awesome celebration, kick off for the Olympics I have ever seen. Everything was meticulously planned and carried out. Everything had a bit of Russian history to it, even the Swan Lake cauldron to hold the Olympic fire. It was grand and majestic and captivated me in a way I haven’t been captivated my anything on tv for years. It was amazing!

You can call it an informative lesson in Russia’s history or well performed propaganda. One things is clear, if you didn’t know anything about Russia before the Sochi games, you would be on a plane going there by now. Well played Russia, well played.

Still. I can’t erase the memories of Russians being tortured while building the Olympic village. Threatened, blindfolded, sodomized. How the workers were at first promised a ridiculous low wage and then most of them ending up with no wage at all. Russia. Sochi. It is heaven and hell all at the same time. The adult in me hopes that Putin heard the chairman of the Olympic committee when he said that all participants, no matter what country your from can live in the Olympic village in peace without discrimination for whatever reason. The teenager in me want to paint my nails in the color of the rainbow to support the LGBT community. But the little child in me just wants to savor the moment, if only for a few minutes of an opening ceremony for the 22nd Winter Olympics in Sochi that not only lived up to my grand expectations but far exceeded them! Well played Russia. Let the games begin!

Leave a Reply

